

New ETP Launch event 29 October 2013 Brussels

Elections of the Steering Board of the new ETP

Voting Procedure

Uwe Herzog, EURESCOM



the Heartbeat of a smarter Society





SB Composition

The Steering Board is composed of:

- 18 Industry Organisations (voting rights)
 (e.g. vendors, operators, content/service providers etc.)
- 6 Research Domain Organisations (voting rights)
 (e.g. universities, R&D centres, etc.)
- 6 SME Organisations (voting rights)
- 3 Observers (no voting rights)
 (in Net!Works: COST, ETSI; Photonics 21 WG1)
- 1 Observer from the Commission (no voting rights) (directly nominated by the Commission)
- 1 observer for the European Space Agency (ESA) (no voting rights)







Membership Criteria for the Steering Board

- Members are elected on a per Stakeholder Group basis for a period of two calendar years
- Elective are organisations having demonstrated a strategic commitment to European R&D in particular by:
 - a strong European footprint;
 Organisations with headquarters outside of the EU Member States,
 Candidate States and Associated Countries can participate, if they demonstrate a commitment to European R&D.
 - Participation in European research programmes
 (e.g. FP7, Horizon 2020, Eureka or other programs) either with relative significant manpower and/or accepting the task to coordinate research projects.
 - or the ability of the organisation to contribute to the solution of EU societal challenges
- Observers are appointed by the Steering Board
- Observers from the Commission and ESA are nominated by these organisations





Election procedure

- Calls for Candidature were issued separately by Net!Works and ISI, and applications have been received from the membership of both ETPs
- The received applications from both ETPs were merged, and then sorted according to Stakeholder groups (Industry, Research, SME)
- Details of Candidates have been made available (e.g. on Net!Works web on 8 October). For each candidate the origin (Net!Works or ISI) is highlighted.
- Members of the respective Stakeholder Group elect the SB representatives of their group:
- Industry: election of 18 organisations (25 candidates)
- Research Domain: election of 6 organisations (25 candidates)
- SME: election of 6 organisations (10 candidates)





Candidates: Industry (25)

- ADVA Optical Networking SE
- Alcatel-Lucent
- Astrium Satellites
- Atos
- Deutsche Telekom
- DOCOMO Communications Laboratories Europe GmbH
- Ericsson
- GOWEX
- Huawei Technologies Düsseldorf GmbH
- IBM Research
- Intel Mobile Communications GmbH
- Intracom S. A. Telecom Solutions
- NEC Europe Ltd., NEC Laboratories Europe

- Nokia Solutions and Networks
- Orange Labs
- Portugal Telecom
- Samsung Electronics Research Institute Ltd
- SES
- Telecom Italia
- Telefónica I+D
- Telenor ASA
- Telespazio
- Thales Communications & Security
- Thales Alenia Space
- Turk Telekomünikasyon A.Ş.





Candidates: Research (25)

- Athens University of Economics and Business
- Budapest University of Technology and Economics
- CEA-LETI
- Centre Tecnologic de Telecomunicacions de Catalunya (CTTC)
- Consorzio Nazionale Interuniversitario per le Telecomunicazioni (CNIT)
- DLR Institute of Communications and Navigation
- Foundation for Research and Technology Hellas
- Fundacio i2CAT
- Fundacion IMDEA Networks
- Instituto de Telecomunicacoes
- IST University of Lisbon

- ITI Instituto Tecnologico de Informatica
- Tecnalia Research & Innovation
- The Netherlands Organisation for Applied Scientific Research (TNO)
- The University of Surrey
- Universidad Politecnica de Madrid
- Universität Bremen
- University College London -UCL
- University of Bologna DEI
- University of Kent
- University of Piraeus
- Ventspils University College
- VTT Technical Research Centre of Finland
- WIT-TSSG
- ZHAW





Candidates: SME (10)

- Avanti Communications Ltd
- Beacon Tech Ltd.
- Integrasys SA
- INTERINNOV
- M.B.I. S.R.L.
- Nextworks s.r.l.
- Quobis
- RFSAT Ltd
- Sequans Communications
- WINGS ICT Solutions







Ballots and booklet

- At registration, one representative of each member organisation has received:
 - A voting ballot with the candidates of the same stakeholder group the member belongs to
 - a reserve ballot
 - a booklet with information on candidates





Specific rules for the first SB election of the new ETP (1)

- All members of each stakeholder group elect candidates from the respective group's ballot.
- Former ISI and Net!Works members have now become member of the new ETP and vote as such
- Thus, every member has, irrespective of the former ETP membership, received the same, identical ballot (according to its stakeholder group). However, on the ballots the origin of each candidate (ISI or Net!Works) is still indicated.



Specific rules for the first SB election of the new ETP (2)

Splitting up seats into Industry, Research, SME

The following split of SB seats was agreed by Net!Works and ISI for the first SB elections in the new ETP, in order to guarantee representation from each former ETP in the new SB:

	Net!works	ISI	Total
Industry	14	4	18
Research	5	1	6
SME	5	1	6
Total	24	6	30





How to vote correctly

- Every member is free to vote for any of the candidates on the ballot, irrespective of the candidate's origin (ISI or Net!Works).
- The max. number of votes that can be given on each ballot is according to the number of seats the stakeholder group has in the SB:
 - Research Domain: Up to 6 votes (tick-offs on the ballot) – the 7th would make your ballot invalid!
 - SME: Up to 6 votes
 - Industry: Up to 18 votes
- Sequence does not matter, less votes are allowed, each vote has the same weight, multiple votes for the same organisation count only as one







Counting the votes

- The candidates in each stakeholder group are sorted according to the number of votes they received.
- On the resulting list, the guaranteed number of candidates for both ISI and Net! Works which rank highest are elected, see example on next slide.





Example: Industry group Met!Works



Rank	Industry	Elected
1	InCo-1	yes
2	InCo-2	yes
3	InCo-3	yes
4	InCo-4	yes
5	InCo-5	yes
6	InCo-6	yes
7	InCo-7	yes
8	InCo-8	yes
9	InCo-9	yes
10	InCo-10	yes
11	InCo-11	yes
12	InCo-12	yes
13	InCo-13	yes
14	InCo-14	yes
15	InCo-15	yes
16	InCo-16	yes
17	InCo-17	yes
18	InCo-18	No
19	InCo-19	yes
20	InCo-20	No

There are 18 seats in the **Industry Group**

Net!Works: 14

ISI: 4

- The 14 highest ranked Net! Works candidates and the 4 highest ranked ISI candidates are elected
- The ranking will not be disclosed outside the election committee

Legend	
ISI	
Net!Works	

the Heartbeat of a smarter Society







Questions?